Toad's Kitchen

(mostly) healthy recipes for the family

Fluffy Quinoa Pancakes

This is something that I had not tried to do until now, and when I researched pancake recipes using quinoa I found a lot of them called for quinoa flour. Chantal told me that the addition of quinoa made light pancakes, and seeing as I had a bowl full of plain cooked quinoa in my fridge, so was happy to find a recipe which I was able to adapt to suit our preferences. The results were delicious! Light, fluffy and very satisfying. We ate them with a light drizzle of maple syrup and some chopped banana. Very yummy.I doubled this recipe and it made 14 4-inch pancakes.

For 7-8 pancakes:

1 cup cooked quinoa (plain, cooked in water)

3/4 cup flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-free Flour, but plain flour would be fine)

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

2 eggs

1/4 cup milk

2 tbsp. maple syrup or honey (you could use sugar)

Mix quinoa with dry ingredients. Whisk wet ingredients together and stir into quinoa mixture until combined.

Heat a small amount of oil (I used coconut oil) in a skillet over medium heat. Drop 1/4 cup batter per pancake into hot skillet and cook until bubbles appear on the top, a couple of minutes. Keep an eye on the heat as these burn fairly easily. Flip and cook a couple of minutes on the other side, and enjoy with maple syrup, fresh fruit, applesauce, or whatever your favourite topping is 🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

