Toad's Kitchen

(mostly) healthy recipes for the family

“Secret Ingredient” Drop Scones

I recently posted a recipe which I consider to be the best scone recipe I have come across. I haven’t changed my opinion, but that recipe is for the type of scone which you pat out the dough out and cut into pieces before baking.

I have discovered, through my browsing the cooking sections of my favourite online magazine app, Zite, a recipe for drop biscuits/scones which had an intriguing “secret” ingredient: mayonnaise.

At first blush, it seems kind of weird to be putting mayo into something that you may well eat with butter and jam. Well. I decided it would be worth a go, and was I impressed!

The site where I found this recipe, baking bites.com, states that their first attempt came out a bit salty, possibly due to the salt content of the mayonnaise. I did not use any salt when I baked them and they were fine, so have not included it in my version of the recipe. More importantly, though, they also state the need to use full, or higher-fat versions of milk and mayo, as it is replacing the butter.

They take about two minutes to mix, you drop them by spoonfuls onto your baking sheet and in just a few minutes you have these amazing little scones which have the most tender insides, and no mayonnaise-y taste! Crazy!

I recommend giving these a try! Super quick and so easy!

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup milk (do not use skim or low-fat)

3/4 cup mayonnaise (do not use low-fat)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Grease a baking sheet, or line it with parchment paper.

Mix dry ingredients together with spoon. Whisk milk and mayonnaise together and pour over dry ingredients. Stir until just combined. Dough will be wet and sticky.

Drop by spoonfuls onto prepared sheet. Bake 12-15 minutes or until golden. Cool slightly before eating. Makes 12 scones.

Prepared to be amazed 🙂

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

